Skip Navigation

Teen Programs

Three Faiths Programs listing on nypl.org

BOOKMAKING
Use ancient techniques and modern technology to create a book of faith. Write down your thoughts, design the look, and keep it close for reflection.

Jerome Park • Two Thursdays, November 4 & 18, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Port Richmond • Two Mondays, November 8 & 22, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Grand Central • Two Mondays, December 6 & 13, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Muhlenberg • Two Thursdays, January 6& 13, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.
96th Street • Two Wednesdays, January 12 & 19, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.
Jefferson Market • Two Thursdays, February 17 & 24, 2011 • 4:30 p.m.  

Participants must attend both sessions.  

CALLIGRAPHY
Discover the artistry behind the words. Learn about Arabic and Asian calligraphy and examine examples of holy texts. Put ink to paper as you try your own swirls and scrolls.

Muhlenberg • Thursday, October 28, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Riverdale • Thursday, November 4, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Inwood • Monday, November 8, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Van Cortlandt • Thursday, November 18, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Allerton • Friday, November 19, 2010 • 3:30 p.m.
Pelham Bay • Friday, December 17, 2010 • 3:30 p.m.
New Amsterdam • Wednesday, December 22, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Dongan Hills • Tuesday, January 25, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.
Bronx Library Center • Thursday, January 27, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.
Riverside • Friday, January 28, 2011 • 3:30 p.m.
125th Street • Thursday, February 10, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.
South Beach • Wednesday, February 16, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.  

FAITH!
Bring your beliefs to life as you work with our expert theater team to explore religion, faith, and more. Uncover New York City’s rich heritage and put on a great show with your friends!  

Riverside • Five Thursdays, October 28, November 4 & 18, December 2 & 9, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Baychester • Five Tuesdays, November 30, December 7, 14, 21 & 28, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Clason’s Point • Five Mondays, January 3, 10, 24 & 31, February 7, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.
Fort Washington • Five Thursdays, January 20 & 27, February 3, 10 & 17, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.  

Participants are encouraged to attend all five sessions.

HAVE FAITH
What do God, Religion, Church, Temple, Mandala, Nature, Faith, and Belief mean to you? Work with the poets of Voices Unbroken to explore your ideas, then proclaim them before the microphone.

Tremont • Three Mondays, November 1, 8 & 15, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
St. George Library Center • Three Wednesdays, December 1, 8 & 15, 2010 • 3 p.m.
Inwood • Three Wednesdays, January 5, 12 & 19, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.
Bronx Library Center • Three Thursdays, February 3, 10 & 17, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.

Participants are encouraged to attend all three sessions.

ILLUMINATED MANUSCRIPTS
Uncover the hidden messages of symbols and create an illuminated manuscript of your own. Use ancient techniques to prepare the paper and pigments, and then practice your calligraphy.

Parkchester • Monday, November 1, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Clason’s Point •• Tuesday, November 2, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Castle Hill • Thursday, November 4, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
67th Street • Tuesday, November 16, 2010 • 3:30 p.m.
Aguilar • Tuesday, November 30, 2010 • 3:30 p.m.
Mott Haven • Monday, December 6, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Epiphany • Tuesday, December 7, 2010 • 3:30 p.m.
Melrose • Monday, December 13, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
115th Street • Wednesday, January 12, 2011 • 4:30 p.m.
Bronx Library Center • Thursday, January 13, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.
Grand Concourse • Wednesday, February 2, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.
High Bridge • Monday, February 7, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.  

ON COMMON GROUND
What are the faiths of the people who live in your community? Discuss the similarities and differences between various religious traditions and work with a group to create an object that embodies all your stories.

Clason’s Point • Tuesday, October 26, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Parkchester • Monday, November 8, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
67th Street • Tuesday, November 9, 2010 • 3:30 p.m.
Castle Hill • Thursday, November 18, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Epiphany • Tuesday, November 30, 2010 • 3:30 p.m.
Aguilar • Tuesday, December 14, 2010 • 3:30 p.m.
Grand Concourse • Wednesday, December 15, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Melrose • Monday, December 20, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
115th Street • Wednesday, January 19, 2011 • 4:30 p.m.
Bronx Library Center • Thursday, January 20, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.
Mott Haven • Monday, January 24, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.
High Bridge • Monday, January 31, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.

SACRED MOUTHFULS
Your body is your temple, so feed it right. Discover the history of religion and food, and practice making a traditional dish.

Countee Cullen • Thursday, October 14, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Eastchester • Wednesday, October 27, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
115th Street • Wednesday, December 8, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Chatham Square • Thursday, December 9, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Edenwald • Monday, December 20, 2010 • 4:00 p.m.
Bronx Library Center • Thursday, January 6, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.
Parkchester • Monday, January 10, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.
St. George Library Center • Wednesday, January 19, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.
Seward Park • Thursday, January 20, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.
Grand Concourse • Monday, February 7, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.
Countee Cullen • Tuesday, February 15, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.
Van Nest • Wednesday, February 16, 2011 • 4:00 p.m.